Beautiful Weather, Avocados, and a Local Favorite

This past weekend certainly delivered for the highly anticipated warm and sunny weather.
I love when expectations are met :-)I enjoyed all that was being offered from the sun by hiking, laying out, working outside, going on my runs, grilling, and watching my boyfriend work on his bike: true relaxation for me.I also procrastinated quite a bit and now I’m paying for it today. Chemistry is clearly not meant for the back burner. When will I ever learn?

For lunch, one of my favorite things to make is Smashed Avocado and Fried Egg on Toast. The flavor is unreal, and you can’t go wrong with how healthy and filling it is.

Smashed Avocado & Egg | SpeakLyfe

Smashed Avocado and Fried Egg on Toast

For this open faced sandwich, you’ll need:
– slice of bread, toasted
– your favorite kind of hummus
– 1/2 avocado, smashed
– cracked pepper to taste
– sriracha (optional)
– fried egg, cooked to your preference
essence seasoning

To assemble: Toast your slice of bread. Spread on hummus, followed by the smashed avocado. Add a little cracked pepper on top of the avocado, and then sriracha. In a hot skillet with cooking spray, add your egg. I cook with essence seasoning quite often, it’s amazing. You can omit the seasoning and just add salt/seasoned salt and pepper to your egg, whatever you prefer! Top your toast with the cooked egg (my do over easy) and voila!!

Smashed Avocado & Egg | SpeakLyfe

Ahh, just look at that yolk ❤

Later on, my boyfriend, Joel, and I decided we were well deserving of a good dinner out. We chose to go to an Indian Restaurant, and we’re so glad we did.

We decided to try out Tamarind, which according to reviews, is a local favorite. My gosh were the reviews right for once! Both our meals were absolutely amazing and our service was exceptional.

Once our order was in and the server found out it was our first time dining there, we were both served an amazing drink on the house. It was a mango lassi, which happens to be one of the most refreshing drinks I’ve had in awhile.

Tamarind | SpeakLyfe
Tamarind | SpeakLyfe
Tamarind | SpeakLyfe

My dish was the Baingan Bartha which was grilled eggplant with tomatoes and cilantro at a level 7: Perfection 🙂

Bravo Tamarind, bravo. I think we’ll become regulars there, no doubt.

 

 

 

Questions or comments? I'd love to hear from you

