Black Forest Oatmeal

Lately, I’ve been craving a good black forest cake. It’s been such a long time since I’ve gotten to enjoy a slice – and with me being a sucker for anything chocolate, no matter what time of the day, I figured I’d have myself a little rendezvous 🙂

I had a few dried cherries remaining in the pantry, so what better way to use them up than with a good bowl of morning oats!

Black Forest Oatmeal | SpeakLyfe

A great substitute for sweetening your oatmeal without the use of artificial sweeteners are bananas, in my opinion of course. The level of sweetness it brings works perfect for me, not to mention the health benefits bananas provide.

Black Forest Oatmeal
Serves 1

Ingredients:
– 1 banana
– 1/2 cup water
– 1/2 cup almond milk
– 1/2 cup rolled oats
– 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
– 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
– 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
– handful of dried cherries
– 1-2 tablespoon cherry preserve

Directions:
1. In a small bowl, mash banana (if not ripe, microwave for 30 seconds to make it more ‘mushy’).
2. In a saucepan, bring water and milk to a boil. Turn heat to medium-low, then add the oats and stir.
3. Add mashed banana, cocoa powder, cinnamon, vanilla, and dried cherries to saucepan and stir well.
4. Once the consistency is the way you like, transfer it to a bowl.
5. Swirl the cherry preserve into the oatmeal.
*To make this a true version of black forest cake, feel free to add some whipped cream topped with a cherry. I, unfortunately, was lacking those ingredients. I’ll better prepare myself next time 😉

Black Forest Oatmeal | SpeakLyfe

Enjoy!
xo

Questions or comments? I'd love to hear from you

