Spaghetti Squash with Homemade Marinara

I love a good pasta dish every now and then. Whether it’s spaghetti, lasagna, or stuffed shells: I go all in and make sure my plate is scraped clean.

On the other hand – pasta is such a heavy meal and usually leaves me feeling pretty uncomfortable afterwards. I’m sure in very small portions it wouldn’t have that affect on me, but I treat pasta as a meal, not a snack ๐Ÿ™‚

Spaghetti Squash with Homemade Marinara | SpeakLyfe

I thank God for the amazing food that is available to us. One in particular: Squash. I could easily eat vegetarian if I had to; I can’t get enough of squash and the amazing meals you can make with them.

Swapping out pasta for spaghetti squash is a great substitution and certainly a more healthy, low-carb friendly choice. Although the squash seems ‘delicate’ and light, it stills fills you up and leaves you very satisfied.

No more feeling like you have to crawl into that loose shirt and sweatpants to slip into a food coma anymore! YAY!

Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Homemade Marinara
Serves 4

Ingredients:
– 2 medium/large Spaghetti Squash
– Olive oil
– Seasoned salt
– Italian seasoning
– 1 tablespoon minced garlic
Marinara sauce
– Mozzarella and parmesan cheese

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375F.
2. Wash the squash then carefully cut them length wise in half (along the stem down to the bottom). Scoop out seeds and fibrous strings and discard.
3. Using a fork, poke holes into the skin of the squash deep enough to reach the flesh. Evenly add olive oil, seasoned salt, Italian seasoning and garlic to the squash. Make sure to get all parts of the squash coated.
4. With the squash flesh side (cut side) down in a shallow baking dish, bake for about 60-90 minutes until it is fork tender.
5. While the squash cooks, prepare the marinara sauce. Treat this recipe as a base recipe: it’s great just as it is, but feel free to add any other ingredients. I added mushrooms, roasted garlic cloves, and sausage.
6. Once squash is fully cooked, face the cut side upward and fork the flesh until most of the spaghetti flesh has been pulled apart. Add desired amount of sauce into each ‘boat’ and layer it with cheese.
7. Place the squash under a broiler until cheese has melted and turning golden brown.
8. Serve each boat on a plate and enjoy!
*Alternatively, you can skip the broiler and just add the sauce and cheese to the boat and dive on in …kinda what I did when I made these ๐Ÿ™‚ (I was too hungry to wait those extra minutes)

Spaghetti Squash with Homemade Marinara | SpeakLyfe
Enjoy!!
xo
2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash with Homemade Marinara

Questions or comments? I'd love to hear from you

