Bananas Foster French Toast Oatmeal

I always love the idea of French Toast for breakfast, but immediately turn it down with the thought of having all of that bread just in one sitting. It sounds a little contradictory – I know. I’m just not a huge fan of putting my body through such a carb overload. To clarify, I like my bread in moderation 🙂

This morning for my oats, I was craving that French Toast flavor. And then I got to thinking, adding bananas foster to the mix would totally send me to oatmeal heaven. And who wouldn’t want to go to oatmeal heaven, right? Right, exactly what I thought.

Bananas Foster French Toast Oatmeal | SpeakLyfe

Bananas Foster French Toast Oatmeal
Serves 1

Ingredients:
– 1 cup milk of choice or water
– 1/2 cup rolled oats
– 1/2 mashed banana
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– pinch of salt
– maple syrup
– 1/2 sliced banana
– dash of stevia

Directions:
1. Bring milk to a boil, add oats, and reduce heat to medium.
2. Microwave the mashed banana for 30 seconds to bring out the natural sugars.
3. Add banana to the oats and mix. Once more of the liquid has absorbed, add vanilla extract, salt, and cinnamon. Stir. Add a little maple syrup and stir.
4. Once the oatmeal has reached the consistency you prefer, transfer to a bowl. Add banana slices and a sprinkle of stevia on top. Place under the broiler until bananas start to caramelize.
5. Serve any way you’d like to: with another splash of your milk of choice, a dusting of cinnamon, a drizzle of maple syrup, or toasted nuts!

  • The preparation for the bananas is of course not a true bananas foster; this version is healthier because I omitted all of the butter and sugars used to make it. I found the flavors to still be on point though with the way I made this version.
Bananas Foster French Toast Oatmeal | SpeakLyfeTake a font row seat to the rising sun and enjoy!!
xo

6 thoughts on “Bananas Foster French Toast Oatmeal

  1. This looks awesome, and I have to agree with you on the bread, it makes me feel all…weird when I eat a lot of bread for breakfast. That might be because anything other then oatmeal in the morning makes me feel like I missed out on something huge, but y’know what I mean. I think? And I must ask you, how in the world did you get the pinterest button at the bottom of your page with the other share buttons? I can’t for the life of me figure it out!!! Thanks!

    Like

    1. I totally know what you mean and 110% agree with you 🙂 if I finish breakfast with it not being oatmeal, I can’t be satisfied until I get my ‘fix’ haha.
      But you can find all the sharing buttons in your dashboard under settings and then click on ‘sharing’ and you’ll be able to enable which sharing button you’d like to feature on your page 🙂
      Hope that works for you! xo

      Like

Questions or comments? I'd love to hear from you

